The information provided below
is furnished by the:
Florida instituted a special SHORELINE LICENSE in 2009.
The following link to the State of Florida provides all the necessary information
Click here: For the State of Florida fishing shoreline license information and fees.
The shoreline fishing license requirement took effect Aug. 1, 2009.
Resident saltwater anglers who fish from shore or a structure affixed to shore will need to buy a shoreline fishing license unless they have a regular saltwater fishing license or are exempt.
The license is free. However, anglers who obtain the license over the phone will pay a convenience fee of $3.33 to the vendor who provides the service, and those who obtain the license off the Internet will pay a $2.31 convenience fee.
No. A resident regular fishing license that covers fishing from shore as well as from a vessel costs $17 and may be the best option for most anglers unless they feel certain they will fish only from shore.
Anglers who wade into the water are considered to be fishing from shore as long as they can stand on the bottom and do not access or leave the area by boat.
No. If an angler arrives at the fishing location by boat, he must have a regular saltwater fishing license, regardless of whether he fishes from shore.
No. The shoreline fishing license is available to Florida residents only. Nonresident saltwater anglers must purchase a regular nonresident saltwater fishing license at $17 for three days, $30 for seven days or $47 for one year, regardless of whether they fish from shore or a vessel. These prices include administrative fees, but handling fees are additional.
The new license requirement allows exemptions for residents who are age 65 or older, all children under age 16, resident disabled persons who meet certain qualifications, active duty military personnel while home on leave, and all anglers who fish from a licensed pier. In addition, the license requirement includes exemptions for resident anglers drawing food stamps, temporary cash assistance or Medicaid who have proof of identification and a benefit issuance or program identification card issued by DCFS or the Agency for Health Care Administration, and anglers who use a pole or line without a line retrieval mechanism (such as a reel) in their home counties.
There is an exemption for resident anglers using a pole or line, not equipped with a fishing-line-retrieval mechanism, using natural bait, and it applies to anglers who fish from shore, structures affixed to shore or vessels. This exemption applies only in the angler's home county.
The exemption for anglers using a pole or line, not equipped with a fishing-line-retrieval mechanism, does not include anglers who use any type of gear other than hook and line. For instance, crabbers who use traps, baskets, crab nets, dip nets or landing nets will need to have a fishing license. Also, fishermen who use cast nets or other types of nets are not exempt from license requirements.
No. The exemption for anglers using a pole or line not equipped with a fishing-line-retrieval mechanism does not include those who gather shellfish or other marine animals by hand.
Yes. Anglers who have a shoreline license but need a regular saltwater fishing license can purchase a regular saltwater fishing license, even if they already have a shoreline license.
At the request of the FWC, the Florida Legislature passed the shoreline fishing license requirement to head off a federal registration requirement that would have gone into effect Jan. 1, 2010, and would have had a $15 to $25 fee, beginning in 2011. The shoreline license makes Florida's resident anglers exempt from that federal fee.
Yes. Other permit fee changes that were requested by several hunting, fishing and conservation organizations will take effect July 1, 2010. They include increases in